kids only

Black rhino and White rhino


There are 5 species of rhino: 2 are from Africa and 3 are from Asia.

The 2 African rhinos are the black (or hooked-lipped) rhino and the white (or square-lipped) rhino.

They are called black and white rhinos but they both actually are gray.

Rhinos are big: the biggest rhinos weigh up to 7,000 lb (3000 kg) - about half the size of an elephant.

The black rhino is smaller than the white rhino.

Black rhino vs white rhino
Picture by Thomson Safaris

Elephants and hippos have four toes on each foot but rhinos have only three toes.

Both the black and white rhino have two horns.

Did you know people can have a turtle headache?

kids only