Eurovision song contest

The Eurovision Song Contest, or simply Eurovision, was first held on May, 24th 1956, becoming one of the longest-running television shows in the world.

Held annually held among members of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), it attracts some 600 million viewers from around the world even though only citizens of the member countries may vote for the winning song.

Many of the winners have gone on to become world-famous stars, including ABBA, Celine Dion, and Katrina and the Waves.

Eurovision winners

Year Country Song Performer
1956 Switzerland Refrain Lys Assia
1957 Netherlands Net Als Toen Corry Brokken
1958 France Dors, Mon Amour André Claveau
1959 Netherlands Een Beetje Teddy Scholten
1960 France Tom Pillibi Jacqueline Boyer
1961 Luxembourg Nous les amoureux Jean-Claude Pascal
1962 France Un premier amour Isabelle Aubret
1963 Denmark Dansevise Grethe & Jørgen Ingmann
1964 Italy Non ho l’età (per amarti) Gigliola Cinquetti
1965 Luxembourg Poupée de cire, poupée de son France Gall
1966 Austria Merci Chérie Udo Jürgens
1967 United Kingdom Puppet on a String Sandie Shaw
1968 Spain La, la, la Massiel
1969 Spain Vivo Cantando Salomé
United Kingdom Boom Bang-a-Bang Lulu
Netherlands De Troubadour Lennie Kuhr
France Un jour, un enfant Frida Boccara
1970 Ireland All Kinds of Everything Dana
1971 Monaco Un banc, un arbre, une rue Séverine
1972 Luxembourg Après Toi Vicky Leandros
1973 Luxembourg Tu Te Reconnaîtras Anne-Marie David
1974 Sweden Waterloo ABBA
1975 Netherlands Ding-A-Dong Teach-In
1976 United Kingdom Save Your Kisses for Me Brotherhood of Man
1977 France L’Oiseau Et L’Enfant Marie Myriam
1978 Israel A-Ba-Ni-Bi Izhar Cohen & Alphabeta
1979 Israel Hallelujah Gali Atari & Milk and Honey
1980 Ireland What’s Another Year? Johnny Logan
1981 United Kingdom Making Your Mind Up Bucks Fizz
1982 Germany Ein Bisschen Frieden Nicole
1983 Luxembourg Si la vie est cadeau Corinne Hermès
1984 Sweden Diggi-Loo Diggi-Ley Herreys
1985 Norway La det swinge Bobbysocks
1986 Belgium J’aime la vie Sandra Kim
1987 Ireland Hold Me Now Johnny Logan
1988 Switzerland Ne partez pas sans moi Céline Dion
1989 Yugoslavia Rock Me Riva
1990 Italy Insieme: 1992 Toto Cutugno
1991 Sweden Fångad av en stormvind Carola
1992 Ireland Why Me Linda Martin
1993 Ireland In Your Eyes Niamh Kavanagh
1994 Ireland Rock ‘n’ Roll Kids Paul Harrington & Charlie McGettigan
1995 Norway Nocturne Secret Garden
1996 Ireland The Voice Eimear Quinn
1997 United Kingdom Love Shine a Light Katrina and the Waves
1998 Israel Diva Dana International
1999 Sweden Take Me to Your Heaven Charlotte Nilsson
2000 Denmark Fly on the Wings of Love Olsen Brothers
2001 Estonia Everybody Tanel Padar, Dave Benton & 2XL
2002 Latvia I Wanna Marie N
2003 Turkey Everyway That I Can Sertab Erener
2004 Ukraine Wild Dances Ruslana
2005 Greece My Number One Helena Paparizou
2006 Finland Hard Rock Hallelujah Lordi
2007 Serbia Molitva Marija Šerifovic
2008 Russia Believe Dima Bilan
2009 Norway Fairy Tale Alexander Rybak

For the latest results, see the official Eurovision pages.

Here is Celine Dion winning the Eurovision for Switzerland in 1998:

02/06/2010. Category: music. Tags: , .

You may also like -