A-Z of animals : Jackal to Lynx

Animals: ABC | DEF | GHI | JKL | MNO | PQR | ST | UVW | XYZ

Jackal Jackal: three species, all with subspecies.
Black-backed jackal
Golden jackal or Asiatic jackal
Side-striped jackal

Antelope Jackrabbit
Black-tailed Jackrabbit
White-tailed Jackrabbit

Jaguar The Jaguar, the only member of the panthera family to be found in the Americas, is by far the biggest cat on that continent. With a lifespan of 12 – 16 years, it grows up to 1,8 m (6 ft) in length and weights up to 120 kg (265 lb).

Jungle CatThe Jungle Cat is not found in tropical forests as its name suggests, but roams in Egypt, Middle East, and Southern Asia up to western China. It is not a shy creature and is often found close to human habitation, hunting in crop fields and plantations for small rodents. Larger than the African Wildcats, measuring up to 75 cm (27,5 in), weighing up to 16 kg (35 lb) in weight.

Kangaroo The are some 45 species of Kangaroos. (The smaller kangaroos are called wallabies). There are some 50 million kangaroos in Australia, the only continent where you’ll find kangaroos. They eat grasses and leaves and have a life expectancy of about 18 years. Wallabies can be as small as 12 inches but big male kangaroos can grow to almost 2,1 metres (7 feet) tall. Male kangaroos are called boomers or bucks, females are known as flyers, jills or does, and kangaroo young are called joeys.

Koala Found only in Australia, Koalas belong to a class of animals that are among the oldest inhabitants of the planet. They have one of the most specialized diets of any living mammal, feeding exclusively on the leaves of a small number of species of the eucalyptus. Koalas sleep as much as 18 hours a day, with a lifespan of up to 18 years. Koalas are not bears, but marsupials, meaning they carry their young in a pouch

Kob Unlike other antelopes, Kobs establish permanent breeding grounds, some of which are in continuous use for 50 years. Their mating behavior is also different, in that the male is not rough with the female and does not attempt to force her to stay within his territory – rather he appears to try gently to convince her, making soft noises during courtship play.

Kodkod: smallest wild cat in the western hemisphere and one of the smallest in the world. Found only in Chile and Argentina.

Kudu Kudu: a big, athletic antelope. The males have spiral horns with two-and-a-half twists; the females do not have horns. There are 2 species of kudu:
Greater kudu: found woodlands and bushlands of Southern Africa. One of the tallest antelopes and the second largest (the eland being the largest). The horns are up to 1,82 m (6 ft) long. Even though it weighs up to (700 lb) it can jump 3.5 m (11.5 ft) high and easily jump a 2 m (6 ft) fence.
Lesser kudu: roams the savannahs of Eastern Africa. The horns are 50-70 cm (20-28 in) long. Weighs up to (220 lb) and can run up to 100 km/h (60 mph). Can jump distances of more than 9 m (30 ft) and easily jump fences 2.5 m (8.2 ft) high.

Lechwe Lechwe, of the Kobus genus of antelopes (kob, puku, lechwe and waterbucks). There are two species of lechwe, the Nile lechwe and the Common lechwe, which in turn has the subspecies Black lechwe, Kafue Flats lechwe, Red lechwe and Roberts’ lechwe. The lechwe stands up to 100 cm (39 in) at the shoulder and weighs up to 120 kg (260 lb). Lechwes live in floodplains and enter the water to feed on aquatic grasses.

Lemming, 20 species of small rodents found only in the Northern Hemisphere.

Leopard The Leopard is found in Africa and Asia. Its powerful limb and neck muscles enable it to carry a fully grown male antelope or even young giraffe, often weighing up to three times its own body weight, high into the tree tops. The leopard is part of the Big Five group of animals.

Leopard CatThe Leopard Cat has one of the widest spread ranges of any Asian wild cat, with result that a large number of subspecies have been recognized. Weighing 3 – 7 kg (6,6 – 15 lb), their main prey source is small rodents, small birds and mammals, fish, amphibians, insects and reptiles. The lifespan of a leopard cat is 10-15 years.

Lion The Lion stands out from the other big cats not just in its distinctive appearance but also in being the only felid that lives in organized social groups. An adult male weighs up to 225 kg (500 lb) and it grows up to 3 m (10 ft) in body length. The lion’s bite generates around 4,450 newtons (1,000 psi) of force. Prey consists of medium to large herd animals. Once the prey is taken it is common for the males to eat first even if they had no part in the hunting process. Lions are found only in Africa and belong to the Big Five group animals.

Black-collared Lizard
Blue Spiny Lizard
California Legless Lizard
Common Side-blotched Lizard
Desert Canyon Lizard
Desert Night Lizard
Desert Spiny Lizard
Eastern Fence Lizard
Eastern Glass Lizard
Florida Worm Lizard
Florida Scrub Lizard
Granite Spiny Lizard
Island Glass Lizard
Island Night Lizard
Long-tailed Brush Lizard
Mesquite Lizard
Mojave Fringe-toed Lizard
Mountain Spiny Lizard
Panamint Alligator Lizard
Sonoran Desert Fringe-toed Lizard
Slender Glass Lizard
Striped Plateau Lizard
Texas Horned Lizard
Texas Rose-bellied Lizard
Texas Spiny Lizard
Western Fence Lizard
Zebra-tailed Lizard

Llama Llamas are domesticated animals, and members of the Camel family, but differ from camels in that they have 3 stomachs instead of 4. They weigh between 100 and 200 kg (220 – 440 lb), with a height at the head of 1,8m (6 ft). Llamas have a lifespan of 30 to 50 years.

Lynx Lynx: long-legged, large-pawed, short-tailed, tufted-ear cats. Found in the forests of Asia, Europe and North America. There are four species of lynx:
Canada lynx
Eurasian lynx
Iberian lynx

Animals: ABC | DEF | GHI | JKL | MNO | PQR | ST | UVW | XYZ

08/28/2015. Category: animals. Tags: , , , .

You may also like -