Man Booker Prize winners

The Man Booker Prize was established in 1969 by Booker McConnell engineering company for British, Irish and Commonwealth fiction.

Year Title Author
2008 The White Tiger Aravind Adiga (India)
2007 The Gathering Anne Enright (Ireland)
2006 The Inheritance of Loss Kiran Desai (India)
2005 The Sea John Banville (Ireland)
2004 The Line of Beauty Alan Hollinghurst (UK)
2003 Vernon God Little DBC Pierre (Australia/Mexico)
2002 Life of Pi Yann Martel (Canada)
2001 True History of the Kelly Gang Peter Carey (Australia)
2000 The Blind Assassin Margaret Atwood (Canada)
1999 Disgrace J. M. Coetzee (South Africa/Australia)
1998 Amsterdam Ian McEwan (UK)
1997 The God of Small Things Arundhati Roy (India)
1996 Last Orders Graham Swift (UK)
1995 The Ghost Road Pat Barker (UK)
1994 How Late It Was, How Late James Kelman (UK)
1993 Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha Roddy Doyle (Ireland)
1992 The English Patient

Sacred Hunger

Michael Ondaatje (Sri Lanka/Canada)

Barry Unsworth (UK)

1991 The Famished Road Ben Okri (Nigeria)
1990 Possession: A Romance A. S. Byatt (UK)
1989 The Remains of the Day Kazuo Ishiguro (UK/Japan)
1988 Oscar and Lucinda Peter Carey (Australia)
1987 Moon Tiger Penelope Lively (UK)
1986 The Old Devils Kingsley Amis (UK)
1985 The Bone People Keri Hulme (NNew Zealand)
1984 Hotel du Lac Anita Brookner (UK)
1983 Life & Times of Michael K J. M. Coetzee (South Africa/Australia)
1982 Schindler’s Ark Thomas Keneally (Australia)
1981 Midnight’s Children Salman Rushdie (UK/India)
1980 Rites of Passage William Golding (UK)
1979 Offshore Penelope Fitzgerald (UK)
1978 The Sea, the Sea Iris Murdoch (Ireland)
1977 Staying On Paul Scott (UK)
1976 Saville David Storey (UK)
1975 Heat and Dust Ruth Prawer Jhabvala (UK)
1974 The Conservationist


Nadine Gordimer (South Africa)

Stanley Middleton (UK)

1973 The Siege of Krishnapur J. G. Farrell (UK)
1972 G. John Berger (UK)
1971 In a Free State V. S. Naipaul (Trinidad & Tobago)
1970 The Elected Member Bernice Rubens (UK)
1969 Something to Answer For P. H. Newby (UK)

Man Booker Prize official site

02/05/2010. Category: people. Tags: , .

You may also like -